First Entry

To begin my first post I’d like to say that I agree to the TC1017 Page 1.

Now about WSQ00:

For our fisrt assignment we had to set up our laptops with the appropiate software to program in C++. Since my computer has Windows 8.1, the bash terminal that I needed was Cygwin, so I saw Ken’s video on how to download and install it. I was able to do the forst part, but when it came to the actual installation I didn’t understand how to do it. I could’ve just copied what Ken did, but I don’ like to do things without knowing what they are.

Thus I asked Ken to help me but there were some schedule complications, so we agreed that he’d help the next class. However, by then he had proposed another option: Cloud9. With this platform I had no need to install Cygwin anymore, so I signed up on the website and erased Cygwin from my files.

Simultaneously, I began reading the recomended book How To Think Like a Computer Scientist by Allen B. Downey. The first few pages were about what is C++ and the basic program for learners «Hello World.» I got the hang of it, but I found annoying that it didn’t explain thouroughly what each word in the code meant or what they were for; so I was able to do the «Hello World,» but I didn’t really get what I was doing. Watching Ken’s video on the subject helped  little, but I would like to research more or practice so I can fully understand what’s going on when I compile and run each program. I’ll try to do more research and practice more the basics before I move on to WSQ01.

-Valeria

Deja un comentario

Crea un blog o un sitio web gratuitos con WordPress.com.

Subir ↑